Sun Dried Tomato & Basil Hummus

Hummus is one of those perfect snacks that we always have stocked in the fridge. It’s low in fat and high in protein and fiber. Traditional Middle Eastern hummus is made from chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, and salt. Recipes have been adapted over the years to include other combinations such as pesto, olives, red peppers, jalapenos, spinach & artichoke, etc.

I was disappointed today when the grocery store was out of my favorite kind – Sabra’s Supremely Spicy Hummus. If you’re like me then you understand that when I have a craving for something, I just have to have it. I used to love making hummus, but my homemade versions never seemed to come out as creamy and thick as the store bought ones, so I settled for Sabra, even though my homemade hummus is less expensive.

Surely other food bloggers have been frustrated with the consistency as well, so I did some investigating and my conclusion is so surprising. Apparently the ONE and ONLY step I was missing to yielding ultra creamy hummus was “skinning the beans.” Yes, you read that correctly – actually removing the skins from each and every single little garbanzo bean. Are you kidding me? Ain’t nobody got time fo dat!

I would have never thought this would work. But after much deliberation and after reading many tips from fellow food bloggers, I figured there had to be some method to this madness, so I gave it a shot. After all, I was seriously craving what I couldn’t have. Tediously annoying? Yes. Actually worth it? Absolutely. I recommend bribing someone close (like my sister) to help or do the whole task for you in exchange for sharing.

IMG_7901

It’s remarkable how much of a difference this one little step delivers to the end result – thick, creamy, and perfectly smooth hummus. It’s definitely worth it and you’re bound to never go back to the store bought versions again. (It’s really not that mind-numbing of a task, I’m just impatient).

I love a traditional recipe, but decided to jazz this one up a bit today by adding sun dried tomatoes and basil (that happens to still be flourishing in the garden). Hummus variations are so versatile because you can add any combination of your favorite ingredients. Stick with the traditional method (including skinning the beans!) and add your own little spin to make it uniquely yours.

Ingredients

1 15oz can of garbanzo beans (chickpeas), SKINNED
2 cloves of garlic, roughly chopped
1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes
Handful of fresh basil leaves
1/2 cup chickpea juice
2/3 cup Tahini
Juice of 1 lemon
1/2 cup olive oil
1 tsp salt, add more to taste
1 tsp black pepper
1 tbsp red pepper flakes, optional
1/2 tsp paprika

Instructions

Drain the can of chickpeas and reserve 1/2 cup of the juice. Remove the skins from the chickpeas and place them in a food processor. Pulse until it becomes  grainy in texture. Scrape the sides of the mixer.

IMG_9579

Add the garlic, sun dried tomatoes, basil, chickpea juice and blend until well combined. Add the tahini and lemon juice and blend until the texture starts to thicken and become creamy. Slowly drizzle in the olive oil and continue to blend. Add the salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes, to taste.

IMG_9583

I like to serve it topped with a little drizzle olive oil, chopped basil, sun dried tomatoes, and paprika – along with pretzel chips.

IMG_9580

Special thanks to the Neighbor Food Blog for the inspiration and tips.

3 responses to “Sun Dried Tomato & Basil Hummus

    • Thank you so much for your kind words! I’m so glad they came out good! It’s such a fun thing to make. I do agree with you that the dipping sauce needs to be doubled. It’s very salty and I bet it would be even better with more water and sugar. I’m going to do that next time! Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

